RSS  Facebook  Facebook

Ferguson to present Cantona with Award tonight

Mon, Apr 12, 2010


Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson will honour Eric Cantona with the prestigious Legend of Football Award at the annual Football Extravaganza, which takes place this evening at the Hilton Park Lane.

Cantona is widely regarded as one of the best players in Manchester United’s illustrious history, collecting four Premier League titles and two FA Cups in his United career. Ferguson will present Cantona with his award on the 15th anniversary of the event in aid of Nordoff Robbins. Cantona was voted Manchester United’s player of the century and is still revered at Old Trafford where fans still chant “Ooh Aah Cantona”. He was voted PFA Player of the year in 1994 and the FWA Footballer of the Year in 1996.

Previous recipients of the Legend of Football Award at the annual Football Extravaganza include Sir Stanley Matthews, Sir Bobby Robson, Sir Bobby Charlton and Sir Alex Ferguson. Expected to be in attendance to see Cantona receive his award are a host of legends from the English football including Tony Adams, Sir Bobby Charlton, Alan Curbishley, Kenny Dalglish, Denis Law, Teddy Sheringham and Alan Shearer, all of whom are official patrons of the longest running annual charity football event.

Related Posts

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply




Biography  •  Filmography  •  Profile